Wednesday, 2 August 2017

Osinbajo Makes Anti-corruption Shakeup, Removes ICPC Chairman

Acting President Yemi Osinbajo has approved the redeployment of Ekpo Nta, chairman of the Independent Corrupt Practices and other Related Offences Commission (ICPC).
Nta was redeployed to the National Salaries, Incomes and Wages Commission, a statement on Tuesday, signed by Bolaji Adebiyi, director of press in the office of the secretary to the government of the federation said.
It will be recalled that former President Goodluck Jonathan appointed Nta in 2012.
The statement said Bolaji Owasanoye, a professor, has been appointed as chairman with a renewable tenure of five years.
“The appointment of the chairman is for five years, while the tenure for all the members is four years,” the statement read.
“Also, these appointments are subject to senate confirmation.”

The new ICPC chairman was a member of the presidential committee on anti-corruption led by Itse Sagay, a senior advocate of Nigeria (SAN).
The statement also announced the appointments of Grace Chinda, Okolo Titus, Obiora Igwedebia, Olubukola Balogun, Sam Ewang, a retired air force officer, Adamu Bello, a retired justice, Hannatu Mohammed and Abdullahi Saidu as members of the anti-graft agency.
Musa Abubakar was named secretary, while Sa’ad Alanamu, Yahaya Daud, Khamis Mailantarki and Maimuna Aliyu were also announced as members.
The acting president also named Okoi Obona-Obla, special assistant to the president on prosecution, as the chairman of the committee to recover public property.
Akingbolahan Adeniran was appointed secretary of the committee.

No comments:

Post a Comment